General Sport

While competitive sport is part of Disability Sport, such as with the Paralympics and the Special Olympics,an even bigger part of Disability Sport are the local clubs and provisions for everyone to get involved and get active and healthy.  It is about turning up and giving it ago.  With so many options, there is likely to be something for everyone and every ability.  The website, Parasport, lets you search by postcode to find local disability sport club options.  There are major disability sports charities who work with different types of disability, like Wheel Power, Blind Sport and CP Sport.  There is an Inclusive Gyms Initiative in the UK, making gyms accessible and places for everyone.  In Bucks, for example, this includes Risborough Springs Swim and Fitness Centre.  Disability Sport also gets significant funding to get everyone involved, such as from Sport England.

Here, you will find information on all levels of sport intended to get you involved and exploring options that work for you.  There are a few insightful short videos and a list of useful Disability Sport websites and charities so you can get involved.

CNN Blind person up Mount Everest video interview clips. 

Erik Weihenmayer is a blind adventure who has conquered many Disability Sport challenges, one being climbing Mount Everest, despite being blind.  This is a formal interview of his experience. 

Paralympics Clip, Rio 2016.  A Quick Look at the Athletics Highlights 

Special Olympics 2019, Abu Dhabi.  A global games for those who have learning disabilities.

Useful Disability Sport websites:

Parasport.  Local opportunities for Disability Sport and being active, covering the whole of the UK.  Over 3000 entries of local clubs via a postcode search.  https://parasport.org.uk/about-us

Inclusive Gyms.  http://www.activityalliance.org.uk/get-active/inclusive-gyms

Sports England, Disability Sport.  http://www.sportengland.org/our-work/disability

Actively Alliance.  Disability-inclusive sport and sports events throughout the UK.  http://www.activityalliance.org.uk 

Podium provide Disability Sport's equipment to individuals or organisations like schools.  https://podium4sport.com/disability-sport

DiveHeart UK.  A Charity offering SCUBA diving to people with disabilities and their carers if needed.  http://www.diveheartuk.org/?page_id=2

Disability Race Running, for those with balance issues.  http://www.racerunning.org/FrontPage/?id=15

Disability Swimming.  Becoming a Para Swimmer.  https://www.swimming.org/sport/becoming-a-para-swimmer/

Swimming Pool Finder, Accessible pools.  https://swimming.org/poolfinder/search?location=&latitude=51.66328771258885&longitude=-0.7275688693064857&filter%5Bdiscipline_disability%5D=true

Swim England.  Find Disabilities Swimming Hub Clubs.  https://www.swimming.org/sport/disability-swimming-hub-clubs/

Sitting Volleyball.  http://www.volleyballengland.org/Sitting_Volleyball/

British CyclingDisability and Parasport.  https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/disability/article/20150812-disability-static-content-About-para-cycling-0

Disability Gymnastics.  https://www.british-gymnastics.org/discover/disability-gymnastics

Aerobility is a Charity and Flying School in Camberley, teaching people with different impairments/disabilities to fly planes.  https://www.aerobility.com 

Stelios Philanthropic Foundation, in partnership with Aerobility and Air League now offer a disabled pilot's scholarship.  An excellent opportunity to get a full private pilots licence.  

Wheelchair Tennis.  https://www.itftennis.com/wheelchair/home.aspx

Sportability is a Sports Carity offering adventure sport and pursuits, like canoes, gliders, microlights and sail boats for those with paralysis, such as due to spinal cord injury, Stroke, MS.  https://www.sportability.org.uk/

DS Active Leisure.  Sport, fitness organised activities for people with Down's Syndrome.  You can search for activities near you.  Sports sessions include tennis, football, snooker, athletes, sailing, rugby, cricket.  https://www.dsactive.org.uk

Mencap Sport for learning disabilities.  https://www.mencap.org.uk/about-us/what-we-do/mencap-sport

Sailability is the RYA National Program to get more people with disabilities to try sailing and, if they want to participate regularly.  https://www.rya.org.uk/programmes/rya-sailability/Pages/hub.aspx

Cerebral Palsy Sport.  http://www.cpsport.org.  Adapt and re-create sport so that everyone can participate, such as with Race Running that need aids to move around but want to get involved in running.  They also do football and other sports in a similar way, as well as other sports, like swimming 

UK Deaf Sport.  https://ukdeafsport.org.uk

Wheel Power.  Wheelchair Sports Charity.  https://www.wheelpower.org.uk/

British Disability Darts.  http://www.bddadarts.co.uk/home-page

Special Olympics for those with learning difficulties.  https://www.specialolympics.org

Disability Snow Sports.  http://www.disabilitysnowsport.org.uk

Disability Snow Sports UKoffer adapted ski sports so everyone can get involved.  They offer ski holidays.

Get Inspired and motivated into sport by the Get Inspired website from the BBC.  https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/get-inspired

Para Dance.  Find disability dancing near you.  Also, Para Dance is a sport and there are courses you can do.  https://paradance.org.uk/ 

Disability Football Directory.  http://disabilityfootball.co.uk/

Disability Karate 

British Disabled Angling.  Get into fishing.  https://bdaa.co.uk/

PHAB is a large network of clubs throughout the UK, encouraging those with and without disabilities to come together for sport and leisure.  https://www.phab.org.uk

Blind CricketEngland and Wales.  http://www.bcew.co.uk

British Federation of Disability Cricket.  https://cfpd.org.uk/

England Golf Disability Inclusive for All.  https://www.englandgolf.org/play-golf/disability/

British Rowing. Adapted rowing for disability.  https://www.britishrowing.org/go-rowing/learn-to-row/adaptive-rowing/

The Back Up Trustsupports those with spinal cord injuries.  They also run a range of different residential courses.  These include multi-activity sports break courses, also Sweden Adventure Snow Sports, SitKarting courses and also courses to help with independence for 18-25 year olds, as well as other options for other ages and needs.  https://www.backuptrust.org.uk/support-for-you/life-changing-courses

Dwarf Sports Association.  For those with a short stature.  http://www.dsauk.org

Limb Power, to get amputees into sport.  http://limbpower.com/index.php

British Blind Sport is a disability Blind Sport organisation supporting, encouraging and promoting blind and partially-sighted sport and recreation.  https://britishblindsport.org.uk.  They also provide a useful guide to visually impaired friendly sport.  http://britishblindsport.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/VIFriendlySport.pdf. This YouTube video shows the inclusive sport of goalball that is played at all levels. 

Transplant Sport Sport and competitions for transplant recipients.  https://transplantsport.org.uk/

 Boccia Sport is for those with complex disabilities and complex needs, so all get involved in sport and it is played at Olympic Level, as well as local level.  http://boccia.uk.com

Or see it in action by Boccia UK. 

 

Subscribe